Day 115: Refraction

We didn't start today with whiteboarding. Usually we do. I wonder, is it a bad idea to start with whiteboarding so often? Is it a good way to make sure we're all on the same page? 

We started instead with a lab. We used the three pin method not to find out how reflection works but what happens when the light enters a new medium. We found the relationship between the angle of incidence and the angle of refraction. It wasn't linear, and it doesn't make sense to square an angle in radians, so we tried some mathematical transformations that make sense for angles.

I'm off tomorrow, so one of my students has promised to be the guest blogger tomorrow. They have a test and some whiteboarding to do. I won't be there to supervise the whiteboards; I'm excited to see how it turns out.